Hunter Hunted

We were visiting the new aquarium in the Toledo Zoo when I saw a small boy gamboling near a fish exhibit. I thought of taking a photograph of his merry frolicking and it was then I saw Ms. Kara Fallon, an alumna of BGSU, pointing her camera at him. Quickly realizing what was unfolding in front of me I switched to stealth mode and took position. And then unbeknownst to her, rat-tat-tat, I shot them, with my Canon Rebel T3 of course! πŸ™‚

There was a high dynamic range involved in these photographs. So I tried a couple of techniques to brighten the shadows without burning out the highlights and liked the outcome of the contrast masking technique. The images are a bit grainy, but who cares. I have seized the moment, the hunter is hunted! πŸ™‚

[Update:The photographs which were originally processed in GIMP have a lot of noise. I have reprocessed them in LightRoom 6 and the outcome is much better. Third and fourth photographs below are the ones processed in LR]

Gamboling! Rebel T3, 24mm, f/3.5 @ 1/400

Gamboling!
Rebel T3, 24mm, f/3.5 @ 1/400

Gotcha! Rebel T3, 24mm, f/3.5 @ 1/400

Gotcha!
Rebel T3, 24mm, f/3.5 @ 1/400

Processed in LR Rebel T3, Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM

Processed in LR
Rebel T3, Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM

Processed in LR Rebel T3, Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM

Processed in LR
Rebel T3, Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM

Leave a Reply

