They now rest in peace…

I have high regards for military personnel, especially army. I had penned down a few lines on 15th August, 2010 (Indian Independence Day) to commemorate the sacrifices made by our gallant soldiers. This poem presents the perspective of a bullet fired from a Pakistani rifle.

There was a loud bang and I moved faster than sound,
Piercing through flesh and bones, my target finally found.
Crashing on the blood stained ground was Sepoy Mohd. Karam,
His spine chilling cry calling “Vande Maataram”.

I asked his fleeing life, left with only few breaths to spare,
“You display heroism, such gallantry how do you dare?”
Said the unsung hero with warriors might,
“Duty before death is my motto,
To protect my motherland I fight.”

I was created on the other side of the border,
My only objective was destruction and disorder.
But now that I am deep into his heart,
All my gun powder empty, my hatred torn apart.
With my life now all at ease,
I lay in this great land, resting in peace.

Leave a Reply

